PIM Entries are Deleted when a PDAsync is Cancelled

Author Scott M on February 14, 2012 | Print | Bookmark
Last updated on April 6, 2012

Document relates to: PDAsync


SUMMARY

After I started a synchronization, I realized that I had made an error and cancelled the synchronization. Now some of the entries are missing from the PIMs (either the mobile device or from the desktop PIM). What happened? Can I get made data back?


CAUSE

There are many tasks that occur when synchronization is executed. One of these tasks is deleting some of the entries. This is most commonly done when a full synchronization is performed and you indicate you'd like to "replace" a set of records rather than "combine" both sets of records. If you cancel before it has finished, the synchronization is in an intermediate synchronization state. This intermediate state could be a point after the deletion has occurred, but before the data is replaced. Unfortunately, the data is not recoverable.


SOLUTION

It is recommended that you DO NOT cancel a synchronization.


This Article can be found by searching for:

Keywords: Error Messages: Mobile Device Synchronizing

Platforms: Win95, Win98/SE, WinNT, WinME, Win2K, WinXP, WinVista, Win7

Article#: 616

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Category: PDAsync

Last updated on April 6, 2012 with 2878 views


Contact & Support Information

Live Chat - Sales, Customer Service & Technical Support:
http://www.laplink.com/contact

Laplink Support Account:
http://www.laplink.com/mysupport/

Customer Service:
1-800-LAPLINK

Forums:
http://forums.laplink.com/